Tag: Young Adult

Louis Sachar – Small Steps | Review

Title: Small Steps

Author: Louis Sachar

Type: Fiction

Page Count/Review Word Count: 266

Rating 5/5

 

 

This is essentially the sequel to Holes, except instead of following Stanley Yelnats, it follows Armpit. He’s been keeping busy (digging holes of all things) and squirreling away some money, but then his friend X-Ray comes up with an idea about how to make a little money: ticket touting.

Of course, the plan backfires in several fairly spectacular ways, and it also has unexpected consequences for Armpit. At the same time, it’s a coming-of-age story that deals with everything from racism to pushy parents and attempted murder. So there are a lot of complexities here, and while it is I guess somewhere between middle grade and young adult novel, it’s a genuine joy to read.

If you’re looking for “literature” then you might not find it here, but if you just want a good story with a decent message behind it, you need look no further. It was also super sad in places while simultaneously making me feel warm and fuzzy inside. In that respect, it reminds me of both Holes and Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

So would I recommend this? Of course I would, but I’d also recommend picking up Holes first. Both of them are fantastic and Sachar is a fantastic writer, and even before I’d picked this up I knew I wanted to add all of his books to my wish list. Then I picked this up from a charity shop, so I guess it’s a sign. Awesome!

 

 

Click here to buy Small Steps.


E. Lockhart – We Were Liars | Review

Title: We Were Liars

Author: E. Lockhart

Type: Fiction

Page Count/Review Word Count: 228

Rating 2/5

 

 

I didn’t like this one, but that might be my own fault. I was expecting a sort of YA thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, which I didn’t particularly like, but it turns out to be more of a romance, at least for the first half of the book. And then there’s the ending, which is what made me downgrade this from a 3/5 to a 2/5.

I also didn’t particularly like the writing style, especially when sentences were dragged over several small paragraphs
a bit like
this. It’s infuriating and I kept noticing it and being vaguely annoyed by it. I didn’t like the fairy tale sections either, and it sort of felt as though they were included as an afterthought to try to bulk the book out.

With that said, I can also kind of see why it’s a popular book, it just wasn’t my cup of tea. The main thing that I liked about it was that it was short and so it was over quickly, although I also quite liked the nameCadence” for the protagonist. It also made me think of American Pie III though, and now I want to re-watch it. Oops.

 


 

Click here to buy We Were Liars.