Tag: Sentences

H. P. Lovecraft – The Case of Charles Dexter Ward | Review

Title: The Case of Charles Dexter Ward

Author: H. P. Lovecraft

Category: Fiction

Page Count: 128

Rating: 3.5/5

If you can get past some of the casual racism that betrays itself in the way that the author strings a couple of sentences together here and there, there’s actually a decent book here. It’s remarkable in that it’s a great example of that sort of slow, creeping dread that Lovecraft did so well. What’s terrifying is that we can’t really see the evil that’s out there, it’s always just on the edge of our periphery.

Overall, a pretty good read, but definitely not one to go out of your way for it. It’s just alright, you know? But also influential.

Learn more about The Case of Charles Dexter Ward.

 


E. Lockhart – We Were Liars | Review

Title: We Were Liars

Author: E. Lockhart

Type: Fiction

Page Count/Review Word Count: 228

Rating 2/5

 

 

I didn’t like this one, but that might be my own fault. I was expecting a sort of YA thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, which I didn’t particularly like, but it turns out to be more of a romance, at least for the first half of the book. And then there’s the ending, which is what made me downgrade this from a 3/5 to a 2/5.

I also didn’t particularly like the writing style, especially when sentences were dragged over several small paragraphs
a bit like
this. It’s infuriating and I kept noticing it and being vaguely annoyed by it. I didn’t like the fairy tale sections either, and it sort of felt as though they were included as an afterthought to try to bulk the book out.

With that said, I can also kind of see why it’s a popular book, it just wasn’t my cup of tea. The main thing that I liked about it was that it was short and so it was over quickly, although I also quite liked the nameCadence” for the protagonist. It also made me think of American Pie III though, and now I want to re-watch it. Oops.

 


 

Click here to buy We Were Liars.