Tag: Romance

William Shakespeare – Much Ado About Nothing | Review

Title: Much Ado About Nothing

Author: William Shakespeare

Type: Fiction

Page Count: 268

Rating: 4/5

I’m not sure how I hadn’t got to this play yet, but I’m glad I picked it up. I think it’s actually one of the easiest of Shakespeare’s plays to follow, and I flew through it because I have a weird edition. The left pages have the notes on and the right side has the play, but I didn’t need the notes except for the introductions to each scene to make sure that I knew what was going on.

One of the things that interested me here is that it focusses on a case of mistaken identity, which Shakespeare has done elsewhere. He does it well, and this play is a fantastic example of that. At the same time, it was much easier to understand and to follow the action than it was in The Comedy of Errors, which has some similarities.

But this also stands up on its own as a fantastic little play and something that’s going to stick with me for a while. There’s also a little bit of romance in there, presumably to give it some more mainstream appeal, and the humour is of the kind where I think anyone could enjoy it. That makes it a play for all the family, and I hope that at some point I get to see a performance of it.

We’ll see, though. That might have to wait until after all of the coronavirus stuff has blown over. But Shakespeare was quarantined too, I hear.

Learn more about Much Ado About Nothing.


E. Lockhart – We Were Liars | Review

Title: We Were Liars

Author: E. Lockhart

Type: Fiction

Page Count/Review Word Count: 228

Rating 2/5

 

 

I didn’t like this one, but that might be my own fault. I was expecting a sort of YA thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, which I didn’t particularly like, but it turns out to be more of a romance, at least for the first half of the book. And then there’s the ending, which is what made me downgrade this from a 3/5 to a 2/5.

I also didn’t particularly like the writing style, especially when sentences were dragged over several small paragraphs
a bit like
this. It’s infuriating and I kept noticing it and being vaguely annoyed by it. I didn’t like the fairy tale sections either, and it sort of felt as though they were included as an afterthought to try to bulk the book out.

With that said, I can also kind of see why it’s a popular book, it just wasn’t my cup of tea. The main thing that I liked about it was that it was short and so it was over quickly, although I also quite liked the nameCadence” for the protagonist. It also made me think of American Pie III though, and now I want to re-watch it. Oops.

 


 

Click here to buy We Were Liars.