Dane Cobain is a published author, freelance writer, book blogger, poet and (occasional) musician.read full bio
My Books
More books
Blog Updates
Getting into the Spirit of Christmas

Getting into the Spirit of Christmas

I used to hate Christmas. I made no secret of it, either. I used to be an angry young man who resented Christmas for imposing itself on him. There are a few reasons why I felt like that, but I’d rather not go into them here, thank you very much. The good news is...

Driven: The Cover Reveal and Pre-Launch Info!

Driven: The Cover Reveal and Pre-Launch Info!

Hi, folks! Today is an exciting day for me because it’s cover reveal day for my upcoming detective novel, Driven. This one’s been a long time coming and so I’m super excited to be able to share both the cover and the blurb, as well as some of the key dates that you need t...

Revealing the Shadow Panel’s Pick of The Young Writer of the Year Award! [+ COMPETITION]

Revealing the Shadow Panel’s Pick of The Young Writer of the Year Award! [+ COMPETITION]

Hi, folks! Now, as you might already be know, I was lucky enough to have been selected as a member of the shadow panel for the Sunday Times and Peters Frasers + Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award thanks to my book blog, SocialBookshelves.com. I don’t want to go into a huge amount o...

Welcome to the New-Look DaneCobain.com

Welcome to the New-Look DaneCobain.com

Well hello, hello, hello, and welcome to the new-look DaneCobain.com! I’ve been working crazy hard over the last few days trying to rebuild my website and to create something that I can be proud of and which I feel is an accurate portrayal of my books and my writing. Hopefully this new-look website does i...

I’m On BookTube!

I’m On BookTube!

“What is BookTube?” I hear you asking. Well, as the name suggests, it’s a sub-community within YouTube where people talk about books by posting reviews, hauls, tag videos and more, and I’ve been involved with it on and off for three or four years now. I used to make sporadic BookTube videos for my...

Reviews

The whole concept and idea of [Subject Verb Object] is a format that I've found myself to love. Each of the included writers was asked to submit a short writing prompt which included a subject, a verb and an object (e.g. Philip picked up the magnifying glass). These prompts were then shuffled and randomly assigned to the writers who were then tasked with creating a short piece of writing based on that prompt. The pieces in this anthology range from love to tragedy, mystery to discovery.

Kai Bloodworth

Cobain takes the topic of social media and begins opening layers, peeling away at different aspects in each chapter. I appreciated the way the book includes thoughtful tables that summarize content - this is always helpful when reading informational work. In the final analysis, I would recommend Social Paranoia as an example of extremely readable research-based text, but also as a book that explores an interesting and relevant concept.

JD DeHartAuthor

An excellent apocalyptic horror that combines religion and science in one fell swoop, No Rest for the Wicked is a swift, engrossing tale by Dane Cobain that uses real-world influences and strong characters to provide us with a tale of Angels who operate with more brimstone than harps. Using a nice mix of chapter styles and viewpoints to keep things interesting, the story maintains a steady pace of thrills, chills, and meditations on sin, love, and how far humanity should delve into the universe's secrets.

Oli Jacobs
Oli JacobsAuthor

No Rest for the Wicked is definitely a good read, well-written with a good premise and main arc, as well as interesting flashbacks glimpsing into the main character's past. Cobain builds mystery and suspense well.

Nick Reffin
Nick Reffin

I bought [No Rest for the Wicked] after it was recommended by a friend. It's a brilliant read - dark, scary, disturbing and thought-provoking. The effortless style of writing is easy to read but full of flavour and just the right level of description. In fact, this makes the subject matter all the more chilling as it's done so naturally, not in an over-the-top Hammer Horror way. I'm intrigued to read more from Mr. Cobain.

Sarah Topley
Sarah Topley

The encounters are suitably grisly, the sense of threat is near-constant, with that classic dread that comes from Cobain having an unstoppable, implacable monster in his employ. [No Rest for the Wicked] is a wickedly-paced supernatural thriller.

Michael-Israel Jarvis

Five stars. [No Rest for the Wicked] is a great read.

Julia Suzuki
Julia SuzukiAuthor

A really good read. [No Rest for the Wicked] is awesome!

Annalize Haughton
Annalize Haughton

Great book! I read it on holiday and couldn't put it down. Read it in one go and enjoyed the plot twist! Interesting concept and well-written.

Amy Da Silva
Amy Da Silva

From Angels in his debut novella, Cobain takes us into the afterlife, digitised and repackaged for our social media obsessed era. Former.ly's premise is clever and Cobain handles it with skill. There's a shift in tone and pace that marks out this offering from the previous one. Whereas No Rest for the Wicked was sombre and reflective, Former.ly bounces along gleefully and recklessly. A great thriller.

J. G. Clay

[Former.ly] is an unconventional thriller for the new age. The characters are a combination of odd-balls and the company they work for, Former.ly, is one strange place indeed. It becomes a bit of a tightrope for the main character — trying to discover the secrets behind the company and the strange happenings, while trying to keep the spotlight off himself. Dane Cobain is a great new talent to look out for.

Nikki Dudley
Nikki DudleyEditor of Streetcake Magazine

I enjoyed [Former.ly], somewhat in the vein of The Circle and Ready Player One. Where this book succeeds on its own is the way Dane Cobain weaves mystery and science fiction together. The tension is very effective in this book, and I found it to be an inviting reading experience. I would recommend this book for science fiction readers, and those looking for a bridge between general fiction and this more specific genre.

JD DeHart
JD DeHartAuthor

This is a gripping read and despite my knowing nothing about the world of computer technology, I was driven by the plot and the characters to read as much in one go as I could.

Clive Whitelock

An awesome read. Dane has a strong syle, which only becomes even more apparant if you've seen him read his poetry live (once you have, it's really hard not to read each poem in his voice/style). Each poem is an insight into how he looks at the world, life and sometimes buses. I'd thoroughly recommend you read this and go see Dane live if you can.

Nick Reffin

Poetry should be heard. This is true, but some poems read better than others, too. Eyes Like Lighthouses When the Boats Come Home is a collection of uncomplicatedly direct poetry. There's no reaching, no pretensions, no sense of style over substance, Often quite raw and sometimes delivering a stream of consciousness, Cobain clearly prizes a sense of the moment's authenticity over a meticulous editing process. A pleasure for people who prefer the natural and unconscious sorcery of modern poetry over the rigorous wizardry of more formal styles.

Michael-Israel Jarvis

Steel yourself for this one, there's a lot of grit in [Eyes Like Lighthouses When the Boats Come Home] by Dane Cobain. There are not many pleasantries here: love is a ball ache, everything is awful and death is a junkie. Cobain writes, seemingly, about anything that gets in his ways, and grabs at subjects with spontaneity, and his distinctive spoken word style. In many of his poems, Cobain almost appears to be a wise, all-knowing figure, like a Yoda, with his plain-speaking views that seem so simple.

Katie Lewington

I've seen Dane perform a number of times and the energy of his readings leaps out and grabs you by the mind and forces you to listen. He says that he writes poetry to perform but I'm quite happy to lay back in bed and read these poems. I can truthfully say that [Eyes Like Lighthouses When the Boats Come Home] is a fiery collection and you will marvel at his wordplay. A compulsory edition to the poetry bookshelf.

Clive Whitelock

I love Dane's writing style. It's gritty and raw and it gets straight to the point. Come On Up to the House isn't a typical haunted house story. It's gory and edgy and not for the faint hearted.

My Random Musings

Why is it we always start to read a horror novel at bedtime, aware it will probably give us nightmares? Come On Up to the House is the book you should read if you want something that is bloody and downright creepy.

Katie Lewington

…[Dane] combines concrete detail with socioeconomic concerns.

Lorna Wood
Lorna WoodAssociate Editor of Gemini Magazine

Dane’s poetry is a multi-layered spiral of the macabre, quirky humour and disjointed imagery. Not only does he make you think, he captures the small forgotten moments of everyday life.

Nikki Dudley
Nikki DudleyEditor at Streetcake Magazine

I’ve never seen anyone do a stream of consciousness piece as talented as that. Very impressed.

Mark Allard-Will
Mark Allard-WillAuthor of Saskatch-A-Man and co-founder of Cuckoo’s Nest Press

Watching the change in each character was interesting. I did enjoy watching the house, and James, change them one by one. I was intrigued by the premise and really liked the ending. The adult content scale is rather large. There is violence and a lot of language. Certain scenes are very disturbing. [Come On Up to the House] is not meant for young teens. I give it a nine.

Amber Garabrandt

I am a lucky girl to have had the chance to write my first review about such a gripping story. It took me only one day to finish it and I really enjoyed reading it. [No Rest for the Wicked] by Dane Cobain gives you the pleasant feeling a good story leaves behind, and I am curious now to read more of this author.

Whispering Stories

Sign up for updates

Receive special offers, book news, competitions and more!